Another Day In…

…In my kitchen, In my weightloss journey or In mommyhood. Join me for another day in my life. Baring it all! The good, the bad and the ugly.

Strawberry Peach Freezer Jam

This was the first jam that I tackled with my mother-in-law.  Actually, I asked her to teach me how to make jam and she took her job very seriously.  For the most part, she sat back, kept me company and supervised!  That’s okay.  I learn better by doing anyway.

Before you get started, here are a few canning tips:

  • For freezer jam, you can use plastic canning containers (Ball makes some) .  You can also use glass jars but you need to use the ones that specifically say they are freezer safe.
  • Wash your jars, lids and rims in warm soapy water or run them through a cycle in the dishwasher.
  • Use firm, ripe fruit.  You don’t want it either under-ripe or over-ripe.  Both could affect whether your jam sets properly or not.
  • Use the brand of pectin that your recipe calls for.  Substituting will affect the set of your jam.
  • All ingredients need to be measured EXACTLY.
  • Using a wide-mouth funnel makes filling the jars much easier and doesn’t get the rims dirty.  You can find them in the canning section at the store.

 

As I said in my Adventures in Canning post earlier, my desire to learn how to can and make jam stemmed from this recipe.  I found it on Pinterest (30 weeks ago, apparently), the picture looked amazing and I’ve been dying to make it ever since.  I really wasn’t sure if I’d like peaches in my jam, but it looked pretty, so that was reason enough to give it try.  Right?  I found the recipe on Chef in Training’s Pinterest board and she said that the recipe is originally from MCP Pectin.

 

 

What You Need:

makes 7 cups

 

1 1/4 cup crushed strawberries

2 cups finely chopped peaches

1/4 cup lemon juice

1 box (2 oz) MCP Pectin

4 1/2 cups sugar

1 cup light corn syrup

 

  1. Wash, stem and crush berries using a potato masher for best results. Peel, pit and finely chop peaches. Do not puree the fruit, jam should have bits of fruit.
  2. Measure prepared fruit and lemon juice into a large bowl.
  3. Measure sugar into a separate bowl. Reducing sugar amount or using substitutes will result in set failures.
  4. Gradually stir in 1 box of MCP pectin into fruit. Mix thoroughly. Set aside for 30 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes to dissolve pectin thoroughly.
  5. Pour 1 cup light corn syrup into fruit mixture. Mix well. This prevents sugar crystallization during freezer storage.
  6. Stir sugar in gradually. Stir constantly until sugar is COMPLETELY dissolved and no longer grainy.
  7. Pour into prepared containers, leaving 1/2-inch space at the top for expansion during freezing.
  8. Let stand at room temperature for 24 hours until set. Refrigerate up to 3 weeks or store in freezer for up to 1 year. Thaw in fridge.

 

I hadn’t planned on blogging about this so I don’t have any pictures from before the jam was frozen but believe me, it’s the most beautiful looking jam that you’ve ever seen.  The colour is amazing!  Just so you’ll believe that I really did make this, I figure I’ll show you what it looks like frozen.  I’m sure I’ll be making it again next summer so I’ll have to add more pictures but next summer is a long way away so this will have to suffice for now.  Aside from this being a beautiful looking jam, it is so yummy!  This may very well be my new favourite jam!

 

Strawberry Peach

 

 

What’s your favourite flavour of jam?  Do you have any jam recipes that you’d be willing to share?

2 comments on “Strawberry Peach Freezer Jam

  1. Pingback: Triple Berry Freezer Jam | Another Day In...

  2. Pingback: Peach Freezer Jam (Or any Fruit Mixture you Wish) | Another Day In...

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2013 by in ... My Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Please Cite Your Source

I work hard on my posts, if you find something you like, I would appreciate it if you would please link back to my blog and give credit where credit is due. Likewise, I try to cite all my sources. If I mistakenly credit your original work, please let me know and I will correct it. If I use your original work and you would like me to remove it, please let me know. contact info: anotherdayin@outlook.com

Disclaimer

Melanie is not a medical professional or dietitian. All health and exercise related posts are from her own experiences and are not to be taken as medical advise. Please consult your physician before beginning any new exercise routines and for dieting advise.

Follow me on Pinterest

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 91 other subscribers

MyFitnessPal - Nutrition Facts For Foods

MyFitnessPal - Free Calorie Counter